Home > Uncategorized > REIA – A Let Down

REIA – A Let Down

I’m going to keep this brief since I don’t like to dwell on the negative…

I did force myself to go the the local Real Estate Investors Association last night, and I have to say I was kind of disappointed by it. I got an odd vibe… Well the best way to describe it is: a bunch of semi-grumpy old guys that just complained. There were a few people there that probably would have been worth talking to, but during the networking time everyone drifted into their cliches… Now that I look back on the meeting this came to mind.

But I digress…

I was able to take myself out of my comfort zone and actually talk to a couple of people. One guy was selling his negotiator service for short sales. I haven’t looked into doing short sales yet, so I think I’m going to contact this guy to see if he knows an investor that will pay for short sale referrals. I have the feeling I’m going to come across some short sale candidates, so I might as well make some money from those leads.

The other person I was able to talk to was another wholesaler that is just getting started in the Cleveland area which is about an hour north of me. If i find any deals in that area I can connect with him to help me market the deal and split the assignment fee. Half is better than nothing!

Outside of that I got nothing out of it. The topic of the night was “Creative Financing”, but the only topics covered were using private money through IRAs (which I already knew about and have a good understanding) and selling notes. The notes topic was interesting but it’s nothing I can put to use now.

I think I’m going to give this REIA another shot next month. There is another one in the city of Canton later this month. I might go check that one out. That’s all for tonight I gotta get rolling on my marketing.

PS – I was going to make a video blog about this, but it would have just been me starting at the camera talking. That would have been horribly boring, so I decided to save the couple readers I have from that boredom! I’ll start posting some videos once I start coming up with some good content.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 14, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Hey Brian, the blog looks good, bud. Definitely give REIA another shot and also check to see if there are any real estate investor meet ups in your area. They will likely be smaller groups which makes it much easier to network.

    As far as videos, there’s nothing wrong with you just being you! Just give it a shot and tell what’s on your mind!

    Keep hustlin’

  2. Brian
    January 14, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Hey Shae,

    Thanks for your kind words! There are smaller groups that meet weekly, but I can’t make those meetings due to the lovely 9 to 5.

    I also happened to hop on over to Justin McClelland’s blog and realized we’re both using the same theme…

  3. January 14, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Brian, get used to the let down of going to REIA’s and even other smaller meetups, they’re generally used to market products and services to newbs like yourself.

    Where are you financially?

    What can you commit to getting REI started financially?

    How much time can you commit?

    What are your personal weaknesses? mental, physical

    What are your personals strengths? mental, physical

    What are you trying to achieve?

    What strategies are you attracted to and why?

    I could go and on with questions. It’s important for you to know what your plan is. I’m sure you’ve heard the term, Business don’t plan to fail, they fail to plan

    take from that what you will and see if it relates to your existing struggles.

  4. January 14, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    also, can you add tweetmeme or something so I can share your blog with the world?

  5. January 14, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I enjoyed reading your post. Take it from me never give up. Everyday you learn some are bad experiences some are good. I wish you the best. I am in the Dayton area, any way I can assist you down this way let me know, take care.
    LeJonR

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

